Last checked against sources:

Is the Poppy spec out?

Yes, as a draft. Draft 0.1 was published on October 9, 2026. It is licensed under Apache 2.0 and may change, including in backward-incompatible ways, before a stable release.Read the specification →

This page tracks the draft, the next steps Sierra announced, and when we last checked the official sources. We will log changes to the draft here.

What was promised, and where it stands

ItemStatusPromisedDetail
v0.1 specificationPublishedPublished October 9, 2026Draft 0.1 is available. It may change, including in backward-incompatible ways, before a stable release.
Design workshopsAnnouncedOver the month after October 9Sierra says it will host design workshops. No schedule or sign-up page is public.
Reference implementationNot publishedOver the month after October 9Sierra says it will publish a reference implementation to help developers get started.
Partner working groupAnnouncedOngoingMeta says a partner working group will build out the rest of the protocol. Membership isn’t public; Decagon says it has joined.
LicensePublishedPublished October 9, 2026The draft specification is licensed under Apache License 2.0.
Governance and contribution processNot statedNot statedThe draft does not name a governing body or public contribution process.
Official documentationPublishedPublished October 9, 2026The draft overview, specification, extensions, guides, and open topics are available online.

Floated for later, no dates

Sierra's post lists three ideas with "could", not "will". None is part of the announced first version.

  • More detailed permissions. Sierra lists action-level limits as a possible extension. Draft 0.1 defines poppy:read and poppy:write, and allows companies to add narrower scopes.
  • Push notifications. The company tells the personal agent the moment a flight is delayed or an order ships.
  • Payment extensions. The agent completes a purchase without the customer sharing card details.

What we're watching for in v0.1

The announcement leaves real gaps. These are the questions we'll answer first when the spec is out:

  • How does an agent discover a company? Sierra says "on the company's website", but not with what file or format.
  • What do read-only and write map to in OAuth terms? Scopes, claims, something new?
  • How does a business tell a personal agent from an ordinary bot before sign-in, during a guest session?
  • How does the Poppy session hand off to an MCP server or the company's own agent?
  • Who governs the spec, and under what license? Neither has been named.

Changelog

Updates to this tracker. Also available as RSS.

  • · Poppy rebrand and draft 0.1 coverage. Updated the site name and domain to Poppy, linked the official draft specification, and refreshed the spec tracker and timeline.
  • · Partner lists, PACT and comparisons. Added Meta’s partner list (NiCE, Decagon), Decagon’s PACT, the Muse and Amazon timeline, and comparisons with MCP, A2A, UCP, ACP, TAP and PACT.
  • · poppy.md launched. Overview, architecture, glossary and partners, based on the Sierra announcement.

Sources

  1. Introducing Personal Agent Protocol · Sierra (Bret Taylor, Clay Bavor), Oct 6, 2026 · primary source
  2. Sharing a draft of Personal Agent Protocol · Sierra (Bret Taylor, Clay Bavor), Oct 9, 2026 · primary source
  3. Personal Agent Protocol specification (Draft 0.1) · Personal Agent Protocol, Oct 9, 2026 · primary source
  4. Personal Agent Protocol overview (Draft 0.1) · Personal Agent Protocol, Oct 9, 2026 · primary source
  5. Genesys, NiCE Join Sierra, Meta on Open Standard for Personal AI Agents · CMSWire
  6. Meta joins with group of companies to tame 'chaos' of doing business with AI bots · CNBC, Oct 6, 2026

poppy.md is independent and not affiliated with Sierra, Meta or any Poppy partner. Facts here come from the sources listed on each page.