# Is the Poppy spec out?

> Draft 0.1 was published on October 9, 2026 under Apache 2.0. It may change before a stable release. Checked Oct 10, 2026.

Source page: https://poppy.md/status  
Last checked against sources: Oct 10, 2026  
poppy.md is independent and not affiliated with Sierra, Meta or any Poppy partner.

## What was promised, and where it stands

| Item | Status | Promised | Detail |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| v0.1 specification | Published | Published October 9, 2026 | Draft 0.1 is available. It may change, including in backward-incompatible ways, before a stable release. |
| Design workshops | Announced | Over the month after October 9 | Sierra says it will host design workshops. No schedule or sign-up page is public. |
| Reference implementation | Not published | Over the month after October 9 | Sierra announced a reference implementation to help developers get started. None was public as of October 10, 2026. The pi-poppy author also notes that no official JSON Schema or conformance suite is available; community projects are listed on the Poppy Implementations page. |
| Partner working group | Announced | Ongoing | Meta says a partner working group will build out the rest of the protocol. Membership isn’t public; Decagon says it has joined. |
| License | Published | Published October 9, 2026 | The draft specification is licensed under Apache License 2.0. |
| Governance and contribution process | Not stated | Not stated | The draft does not name a governing body or public contribution process. |
| Official documentation | Published | Published October 9, 2026 | The draft overview, specification, extensions, guides, and open topics are available online. |

## Floated for later, no dates

- **More detailed permissions.** Sierra lists action-level limits as a possible extension. Draft 0.1 defines poppy:read and poppy:write, and allows companies to add narrower scopes.
- **Push notifications.** The company tells the personal agent the moment a flight is delayed or an order ships.
- **Payment extensions.** The agent completes a purchase without the customer sharing card details.

## Changelog

- **Oct 10, 2026** · New implementations, Rocket demo and press. Added Datalayer’s SDKs, pi-poppy, a pre-draft quick start and the Rocket/Redfin Muse demo to Poppy Implementations. Also added Meta’s business announcement and two explainers.
- **Oct 10, 2026** · Created the Poppy Implementations directory. Added a public Cloudflare Workers demo with its documented protocol coverage and limits, and linked it from the architecture guide.
- **Oct 10, 2026** · Poppy rebrand and draft 0.1 coverage. Updated the site name and domain to Poppy, linked the official draft specification, and refreshed the spec tracker and timeline.
- **Oct 8, 2026** · Partner lists, PACT and comparisons. Added Meta’s partner list (NiCE, Decagon), Decagon’s PACT, the Muse and Amazon timeline, and comparisons with MCP, A2A, UCP, ACP, TAP and PACT.
- **Oct 6, 2026** · poppy.md launched. Overview, architecture, glossary and partners, based on the Sierra announcement.

## Sources

1. [Introducing Personal Agent Protocol](https://sierra.ai/blog/introducing-personal-agent-protocol) · Sierra (Bret Taylor, Clay Bavor), Oct 6, 2026
2. [Sharing a draft of Personal Agent Protocol](https://sierra.ai/blog/poppy) · Sierra (Bret Taylor, Clay Bavor), Oct 9, 2026
3. [Personal Agent Protocol specification (Draft 0.1)](https://personalagentprotocol.org/docs/spec) · Personal Agent Protocol, Oct 9, 2026
4. [Personal Agent Protocol overview (Draft 0.1)](https://personalagentprotocol.org/docs/overview) · Personal Agent Protocol, Oct 9, 2026
5. [Genesys, NiCE Join Sierra, Meta on Open Standard for Personal AI Agents](https://www.cmswire.com/contact-center/genesys-joins-sierra-meta-on-open-standard-for-personal-ai-agents-01/) · CMSWire
6. [Meta joins with group of companies to tame 'chaos' of doing business with AI bots](https://www.cnbc.com/2026/10/06/meta-joins-companies-to-tame-chaos-of-doing-business-with-ai-bots.html) · CNBC, Oct 6, 2026
